Case Study

The two cyclists killed in A30 Cornwall crash have been named (02/07/13)

Two cyclists have died following a collision involving a lorry near Newquay, Cornwall, police said.

The cyclists, who were from Scotland, were pronounced dead at the scene.

The incident happened about 08:30 BST on the A30 eastbound at Summercourt, approximately one mile before the Fraddon exit.

  • UPDATE (03/07/13)

The driver of the white Renault Frys Logistics lorry (the lorry was from Launceston, the driver from Holsworthy in Devon) involved in the crash was arrested on suspicion of causing death by dangerous driving. The 31-year-old man has been released on bail.

Police have confirmed that one of the cyclists killed in the collision was a 48-year-old man from Edinburgh.

The cyclists have been named as Andrew McMenigall and Toby Wallace. They were riding from lands End to John O’Groats to raise funds for the Kirsteen Scott Memorial Trust, set up in memory of one of their ex-colleagues at Aberdeen Asset Management, who died of cancer aged 25.

Their fundraising page can be seen here –…

CTC's view: 

CTC is deeply saddened to hear of the deaths of two cyclists on the A30 in a crash with a lorry.

Cycling on rural A roads carries a risk of death per mile travelled 20 times higher than on urban minor roads, however, the A30 is the quickest and easiest route for those cycling from Land’s End to John o’Groats.

Too often we hear of terrible tragedies like this case occurring on Britain’s busiest roads. CTC has repeatedly called on the Highways Agency to improve conditions for cyclists on its network.

Article tags

In collaboration with
  • Patron: Her Majesty The Queen
  • President: Jon Snow
  • Chief Executive: Gordon Seabright
  • Cyclists' Touring Club (CTC): A company limited by guarantee, registered in England no.25185. Registered as a charity in England and Wales No 1147607 and in Scotland No SC042541
  • CTC Charitable Trust: A company limited by guarantee, registered in England no.5125969. Registered as a charity in England and Wales No 1104324 and Scotland No SC038626